Buying a property - how to log it?

• Question
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
I'm a property developer. When I buy a property, how should I log it?

Capital assets seem to be restricted to items that depreciate over 7 years or less (i.e. equipment rather than bricks and mortar).

Thanks,

Mark
Photo of Mark

Mark

• 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 7 years ago

Photo of Michelle Smith

Michelle Smith, Official Rep

• 430 Posts
  • 19 Reply Likes
Hi Mark,

Thanks for getting in touch and hopefully I can help you with this today.

To enter the purchase of property what I would suggest you do, (you may want to check with your accountant that they are ok with this too), is to enter the property as Capital Assets with no depreciation. You would deal with the purchase in the following way:

When you explain the purchase payment in the bank account, initially enter the amount as a payments to another category such as Sundries, with the appropriate VAT percentage.

You will then have to journal the amount back out of this account and into the Capital Assets account.

Here is how to do journal entries: http://www.freeagent.com/support/kb/a...

And here are the entries you will need to post, dated the same day as the purchase of the asset, for the purchase cost of the asset excluding any VAT:

Debit 602-4 Other Capital assets Purchase with description property xx

Credit 280 Sundries with description property xx

This will clear the Sundries account and transfer the property into the Capital Assets account but with no depreciation.

I hope this helps and if you need any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact FreeAgent again.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Photo of Laura

Laura

• 46 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes